All my favourite archaeology is underwater

small_imgp7275

I went to see the Sunken Cities and Sicily exhibitions at the British Museum a few weeks ago. Technically I shouldn’t have been taking pictures (it said so on the ticket, but who reads tickets?) so let’s pretend I didn’t. The Sicily exhibition has finished now, but you can still see the Sunken Cities until November, I think, and you probably should. I was really there for the underwater archaeology anyway. Sicily is all very well, but my interest wore off fast once the Romans left. It turns out I am once again capable of enjoying a good classical exhibition, but will need rather more time before I can face the Byzantines again.

That said, there’s an exhibition on Sicilian shipwrecks in Oxford I really do want to see. I shouldn’t take pictures of that one, either. This time, I suppose, I have no excuse.

One thought on “All my favourite archaeology is underwater

Leave a Reply

